Are you over 21 years of age?

Sorry, friend. Come back when you're 21 - we'll save some for ya!

Everything you need to know about qualifying, applying and getting started with medical cannabis in Arkansas.

Who qualifies for an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

You must follow the Arkansas Department of Health requirements in order to get a card.

Age

Be 18 years of age or older, or be a minor patient with a parent or guardian who applies as a caregiver.

Condition

Be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.

Certification

Have the official physician-written certification form.

Residency

Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency, such as an Arkansas driver’s license or state ID.

Military restriction

State law prohibits members of the Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.

Qualifying Conditions

Visiting patients

Arkansas reciprocates out of state medical marijuana cards. A visiting patient must apply for a visiting patient card. A visiting patient application is $50.00 and non-refundable. If approved, a visiting patient may purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas for a 90-day period, per application.

How to get a card
in Arkansas

Follow these five steps to apply.

STEP 1

Meet with a physician

Schedule an evaluation with an Arkansas-licensed physician. If you qualify, the physician will complete your Physician Written Certification.

STEP 2

Gather your documents

Create an account or access your previous account on website, fill out patient application, upload your physician certification and Driver’s license. Make sure to have payment for $50 state application. This process can be done through the website or if you like it can be mailed.

STEP 3

Wait for approval

Processing can take up to 14 days after your application and payment are received. Incomplete or incorrect applications can take longer.

STEP 4

Renew before it expires

Cards are valid for up to one year unless a physician specifies a shorter period. Renewals may be submitted up to 60 days before expiration and require a new physician certification.

Crop offers resources in our lobby to help you find a qualifying physician. Even if you are not a current patient you can stop in to grab the information or ask questions on the medical marijuana process.

Medical Marijuana in Arkansas

FAQs

Answers to common questions from new and visiting patients.

In the state of Arkansas, you can purchase cannabis if you have received a Medical Marijuana Card from the state of Arkansas.

Only medical cannabis is legal in Arkansas, and you must have a qualifying medical condition in order to apply for a Medical Marijuana Card.

Currently, no. All medical marijuana purchases must be made out of pocket.

Your registry identification card from the Arkansas Department of Health will be valid for one year from the date it is issued or the amount of time designated by the physician. Patients can renew 60 days before expiration date.

You may apply as a visiting patient. You will need your home state medical marijuana card or equivalent. A visiting patient application is $50.00 and non-refundable. If approved, a visiting patient may purchase medical marijuana in Arkansas for a 90-day period, per application.

Yes. Records kept by the Arkansas Department of Health Medical Marijuana Section are confidential and subject to applicable federal privacy laws. Law enforcement can confirm only the validity of an ID card.

No. Use is prohibited in public places, vehicles, schools, correctional facilities, health care facilities and other locations restricted by Arkansas law. Review current Arkansas Department of Health guidance for the complete rules.

A visiting qualifying patient may obtain marijuana from an Arkansas dispensary after approval as a visiting patient.

Have questions?
We’re here to help.

Our team is ready to help you understand your options and feel comfortable at every step.